Welcome to our world! 你好!

They say that a journey begins with a single step but in our case it started with a single click of a button. If someone had told me four years ago that I would be married and living in China I wouldn’t have believed you. For me China was never supposed to be the end destination. It was a pit-stop, a place to scratch off my bucket list and move on. What I didn’t count on was a cheeky Chinese boy who would bring me back to the Middle Kingdom. After four years of living in China I’ve finally decided to take the plunge and blog about my life, love and adventure in this amazing albeit sometimes crazy country.

Our modern day romance begins with an email. A serendipitous message that put into motion a life-changing move and adventures that I hope I will be able to share with you. But before I get ahead of myself, some introductions are in order. My name is Britany, I’m originally from Brisbane, Australia but now call Xi’an, China my home. Why Xi’an? Well an extremely handsome and  happy-go-lucky Chinese man called Peter swept me off my feet, using orphans and pandas as his wing-man but that’s a story for another time. Packing up my life in Australia I moved to China in 2013 with little more than a dream of being closer to the man of my dreams. We were married in August 2015 and have been living our life in Xi’an ever since.

So why has it taken me more than four years to blog about my life here in China? Well, maybe like a fine wine, my writing has been ruminating in my brain to achieve a Pulitzer-like stance or I am just really, really good at procrastinating. The second one is definitely the truth, if procrastinating was an art form I would be at a Monet-like master but with a New Year comes resolutions and this blog is one of them. I hope to be able to share my trials and tribulations of my life as an expat here in China, our AMWF(Asian male/Western Female) romance and all the ups and downs couples in a intercultural marriage have to navigate and some delicious and simple Asian/Western fusion food recipes and ideas

So why the name Joyful Dumplings? Well, dumplings are synonymous with China but apart from that at the heart of Chinese cuisine, they are the ultimate comfort food. A warm, pillowy cloud steamed in love and wrapped together in a embrace of comfort. And Joyful? Well as where happiness is circumstantial, joy is a choice you have to make, something I’m having to practice day by day. That’s what I hope our blog can be, a cozy place that brings delight to you readers whether it’s through my misadventures as a fish out of water, our lessons and experiences as an intercultural couple or if you just come for the food, I hope you can leave the Joyful Dumplings feeling a little warmer.

See you later and 一会儿见!

2 thoughts on “Welcome to our world! 你好!

Leave a Reply

